Financial Services Working Group


The FSWG, which forms an integral part of the BRICS Business Council, serves as a facilitator of cooperation through:

  • Driving interaction amongst the business communities with a view to better understand the market opportunities, build synergies, and
  • Performing the advocacy role between business and the broader BRICS community
  • Promoting cooperation for inclusive and sustainable economic development

South African Financial Services
Working Group Leaders


Mr David Jarvis,

Divisional Executive: Strategy and Corporate Affairs

Deputy Chairperson



  1. BRICS Pay and Fintech – Chairperson, Mr Kumaran Selvarajalu – Senior General Manager, Banking Association of South Africa.

Co-Chair, Mr Vincent Anthonyrajah – CEO, Differential


2.(Re)Insurance – Ms Kgodiso Mokonyane – Head of Strategy, Risk and Compliance, Discovery Ltd

3.CRA – Mr Molesh Singh – Lead Specialist (Investments), Stanlib


  1. SME – Mr Nhlanhla Nyembe – Divisional Executive SME and Rural Development, National Empowerment Fund


  1. ESG and Green Finance

Key stakeholders


CRA, Green Finance, Insurance/Reinsurance, IA Alliance, Cooperation with NDB, BRICS Payment service, SME Initiative

Contact the Financial Services Working Group